• Follow Curiously Persistent on WordPress.com
  • About the blog

    This is the personal blog of Simon Kendrick and covers my interests in media, technology and popular culture. All opinions expressed are my own and may not be representative of past or present employers
  • Subscribe

  • Meta

My five fives of 2009

I mentioned over on the Essential Research blog that lists (ie sharing results with respondents) are a non-monetary way of increasing interest in surveys.

However, actively asking people to rank preferences in a survey is problematic since it requires consideration. And my feeling is that few respondents actively consider their answers – the majority are gut clicks on a pre-coded option.

SIDENOTE: This is also why I feel creative testing shouldn’t be conducted using a pure quant approach – there needs to be either a deliberative qualitative element or a carefully recruited panel fully screened to ensure their cooperation and consideration throughout the process

Nevertheless, I like lists as it offers a succinct description of someone’s interests. If I tend to agree with a list, it acts as a good predictor of future similarities, and I am more likely to follow up on a recommendation.

With that in mind, here are 5 of my Top 5’s for 2009

Top 5 Films

(Released in UK cinemas in 2009, which I have seen. Links point to IMDB)

  1. Let The Right One In
  2. Gran Torino
  3. Up
  4. The Hurt Locker
  5. District 9

Note: I’m still to see Where the Wild Things Are, Avatar and Sherlock Holmes but I’m not expecting any of these to trouble the list

Top 5 Albums

(Released in the UK in 2009, which I have heard. Links point to Spotify)

  1. The XX – XX
  2. Animal Collective – Merriweather Post Pavilion
  3. Future of the Left – Travels With Myself And Others
  4. Atlas Sound – Logos
  5. A Place To Bury Strangers – Exploding Head

Top 5 Gigs

(That I attended in 2009)

  1. Spiritualized @ Royal Festival Hall
  2. Final Fantasy @ Union Chapel
  3. Bruce Springsteen & The E Street Band @ Hyde Park
  4. Holy Fuck @ All Tomorrow’s Parties
  5. The National @ Royal Festival Hall

Note: I’m seeing Mars Volta tomorrow, so this could change

Top 5 Books

(That I read in 2009 – my book reading has rapidly declined, so I’m struggling to get a list of even 5 books I read in 2009. Links point to Amazon)

  1. Moneyball by Michael Lewis (review on this blog pending)
  2. World War Z by Max Brooks
  3. The Damned United by David Peace
  4. Preacher by Garth Ennis & Steve Dillon
  5. The Invisibles by Grant Morrison et al

Top 5 Blogs

(There are probably over 100 blogs that I enjoy reading. But with work and study, I’ve found it difficult to keep up to date with all of them. These are five that I tend to check out first. I have listed them alphabetically, rather than rank them)

  • Blackbeard Blog by Tom Ewing. Tom is the Social media guy at Kantar Research, and writes one of the smartest, most thought-provoking blogs on research (and its intersection with pop)
  • Dave Trott’s Blog by Dave Trott. Great story-telling and lessons from an incredibly successful ad creative
  • Feeding The Puppy by John V. Willshire. Lots of great ideas from phd’s Head of Innovation
  • Only Dead Fish by Neil Perkin. A great mix of original thought and accumulation of the best of the blogosphere from IPC’s Director of Strategy. Very handy when short on time
  • Quaint Living by Alice Watanabe. Alice is an amateur photographer living in Oxford, and her blog is filled with beautiful images of her various adventures – whether cooking a new meal or visiting Japan.

Note: I really need to update my blogroll

While I do like lists, the surfeit of both end of year and end of decade posts and articles is starting to get a bit much. This will be my only contribution.

sk

9 Responses

  1. I blush! Thank you that is very nice 😀 I like 1,2,3 of your music list so I will check out 4 and 5.

  2. Great. I should also point out that I overlooked Telepathe’s Dance Mother, which is possibly my favourite album of the year!

  3. […] on from my 2010 and 2009 lists, here are some of my favourite things from the past year. I’ve only read one book in […]

  4. […] Previous lists for 2012, 2011, 2010 and 2009. […]

  5. […] Previous lists for 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010 and 2009. […]

  6. […] Previous lists for 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010 and 2009. […]

  7. […] Previous lists for 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010 and 2009. […]

  8. […] Previous lists for 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010 and 2009. […]

  9. […] Previous lists for 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010 and 2009. […]

Leave a comment